Seahawks 22, Cardinals 10; Can You Hear Me Now?

Max Hall Sacked by Raheem Brock

Max Hall is undoubtedly thinking "THIS PLACE IS FUN!" (Photo: Ted S. Warren)

Max Hall showed his age when he made some rather unwise (read: completely idiotic) pre-game comments when asked about playing at Qwest Field. So, Max, aside from your undoubtedly bleeding eardrums, have you heard the phrase “shit the bed”? Well, using it to describe your performance on Sunday would be a glowing compliment. Welcome to Qwest Field, the Seattle Seahawks defense, and the NFL.

The Seahawks won in a sloppy game with an Arizona team that has been very poor on both sides of the ball this season. And despite the score, the game was not a runaway victory. The Seahawks offense sputtered once Okung left the game, only scoring one touchdown in seven red zone appearances. Matt Hasselbeck played some of the most conservative football I’ve seen all year; I think he took my post about being careful with the ball a little too far. The Seahawks should have won by 20+ points.

A high level glance at the stats would indicate that the offensive line did a poor job of protecting Hasselbeck: he was sacked 5 times. And this is partly true: losing Russell Okung in the first drive caused a personnel shuffle and a lot of undue strain. (Can people stop falling on his ankles, please? Sweet Jesus.) Re-watch the sack plays and you’ll see that at least three of them were Matt’s fault: he held onto the ball for far, far too long. And I don’t blame him. 

The Seahawks were protecting a lead and everyone, Matt included, knows what happens when he attempts to force throws. I still have nightmares about that Tampa Bay game from last season. Throw into the mix a Cardinals secondary that almost single-handedly beat the New Orleans Saints at the Superdome, and his decisions to take sacks appeared wise. Could he have thrown the ball away? Maybe. But a few of the sacks came with Hasselbeck on the move, in bad position to throw at all.

Time for some bullets, because hell, everyone loves bullets:

  • How about that Marshawn Lynch ? I bet a few of those Cardinals defenders are a bit tender today. The guy ran like a demon. Had the refs opted not to penalize the Seahawks offensive line every other play, Lynch would have finished with over 100 yards rushing and a touchdown, at the very least (two holding calls negated a pair of 20 yard runs, one of which looked like a TD). He is the player I’m almost single most excited to watch every single game. What an amazing acquisition.
  • I could talk about Mike Williams, but it’s just too easy. He’s damned talented, just about as reliable as they come on 3rd down, and quickly developing a helluva rapport with Matt Hasselbeck. Pay the man, Schneider. Don’t let him walk. But, Deon Butler! He is very quietly becoming one fine receiver. His mitts impress me; I haven’t seen a lot of receivers catch and secure a pass so quickly, especially during contact. Another year or two, we’ll see this guy’s hands bleeding glue.
  • The defense sorely missed Brandon Mebane. Creative pressure schemes worked against a completely disoriented Chicago offensive line, and they quickly abandoned the run. But it didn’t against the Cardinals, and they ran the ball successfully with two backs that barely crack the top 50 in EPA. Also, despite both notching a sack, Raheem Brock and Chris Clemons both struggled to consistently pressure the passer throughout the game. In Mebane’s absence, Seahawks defensive tackles are not being double teamed; thus leaving and extra man to defend the Seahawks’ ends. It showed. Get healthy Brandon.
  • I won’t credit the Seahawks secondary with holding the Cardinals to 132 yards passing; that lies on the shoulders of two utterly awful quarterbacks. But I will admit that Thomas is looking much better at reading the play and getting to the ball and Walter Thurmond looked just fantastic. He man Fitzgerald work very hard. Personally, I’ve seen enough: it’s time to give Thurmond the nod to start.
  • Russell Okung’s ankle injury was not as severe has his last, in August. But it’s unclear if it’s a high ankle sprain or not. Pete Carroll, this morning on the Brock and Salk radio show, said he’s walking, albeit a little hobbled. Although his mouth spoke the words “day to day”, his tone and delivery suggested week-to-week. I don’t think we’ll see him back until the Giants game, at the earliest.
  • Oline Mare is a stud.

A win is a win. The Seahawks are 4-2. Despite playing some sloppy ball, the Hawks remain undefeated at home and firmly hold the lead in the NFC West. Next up: the Raiders on Halloween.

About Nick

I'm a guy that loves the Seahawks far and away more than any other team in any other sport. I live in Seattle, I'm married to the perfect woman, I work in marketing and I'm nearly into my 30s. Scary. Find me on Twitter talking #seahawks @nandron.
This entry was posted in Seahawks Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to Seahawks 22, Cardinals 10; Can You Hear Me Now?

  1. Noah Fitterer says:

    I’m calling out the offensive coordinator. He is the reason why Matt held onto the ball forever and countless other horrible play calls. Like when we were 3rd -20 at one point in the game, instead of throwing we ran up the middle falling way short of the first down. And after many other 1st downs, the plays he would call went in the order of pass, pass, run, punt. Obviously it didn’t work out too well. If you don’t make that first pass then it puts a lot of pressure on the RB/HB to make up the difference as opposed to getting 4 yards on the first down from running.

    Eventually Matt went back to his normal quick passes and came into his natural grove and rhythm, for a short while anyway. The offensive coordinator still screwed things up for us, he needs to have more creative plays lined up. It seemed to me like in the first part of the game he started relying on Lynch too much then the Cardinals caught on, then in the second half of the game he relied on Matt too much and they caught on to that as well, and it is well known in football that whenever Matt calls an audible it is going to be a run up the middle 9 times out of 10, it has been that way ever since the Coach Holgrem days.

    I think they should of utilized Matt more by having him throw down the field to keep the defense honest. Matt was definitely not himself yesterday, and I think that is mainly because of the crappy decisions from the offensive coordinator.

    We did win but I think that was mainly because of special teams, and defense putting us in the redzone enabling Mare to put up 3 points. Besides the opening drive, the Seahawks offense was overall very weak in the game with the exception of Williams of course.

    I saw in an interview with Pete Carroll where he said he wants a different receiver each game to be the star of the game, or at least have the majority of the pass plays revolve around the same player. I’m not sure if that is a good strategy or not!

    • Nick says:

      Hey Noah! Thanks for commenting. Whew, that was quite the read.

      I’ve actually been really impressed with Jeremy Bates; he’s shown a bit of creativity. That run by Hasselbeck, for example, fooled everyone, and it led to an easy first down. Completely by design. The fourth down throw to Michael Robinson versus the Rams – PERFECT play call. Shame that Robinson dropped it.

      And the 3rd and 20 draw call was purely a field position move. I actually really liked that call, along with the rush play called on 4th down in the 4th quarter. On the draw, they gained 9 yards and thus were able to punt the ball from about the Seahawks 30 yard line instead of the 20. On the 4th down run, we didn’t convert and turned the ball over on 10ish yard line. Pete even said during the press conference that he’d rather take that field position with a 12 point lead, rather than be up by 15 and give their return team a chance to make a play. I mean hell, it’s not like the Cardinals offense was moving the ball down field very well.

      Also, understand that the offense suffered a huge hit when Okung left the game. Pass protection broke down much more quickly, and Hasselbeck has been coached to play more conservatively, to avoid turnovers (avoid last year). He’s even said this during press conferences. Also, Okung has been one helluva run blocker, so losing him made our game pretty predictable and the run game more difficult to execute.

      Hasselbeck isn’t throwing down field because Bates isn’t calling those plays, but because Matt’s not physically capable of doing so much anymore. Matt struggles to throw the ball 15 yards unless he’s firmly planted. He didn’t have much of a safe pocket for most of that game. Noticed Matt was on the move a lot because Arizona’s pressure schemes worked pretty often. When Matt has to move, he just can’t get enough air under the ball.

      Also it’s worth noting that Brandon Stokley was injured and left the game; he strained an oblique. The Seahawks are already a bit thin at receiver, so let’s hope he comes back for the Oakland game.

  2. Noah Fitterer says:

    Well said Nick, I am watching the Cowboys and Giants game right now and so far in the first 4 minutes of the game the Cowboys already have 2 interceptions and that reminded me of our game of how close we came to intercepting the ball multiple times but just couldn’t hang on to the ball. Although there is no real way to practice for that, I have noticed that there has been many chances for an interception but we have not been able to hang on to the ball.

    And God Okung, when he went out I thought we might be doomed. But ghez I didn’t know Matt was as weak as you are saying, that’s really sad! I always remember him as being a great passer while on the move! I did notice that at least twice in yesterdays game Matt threw a bullet to a man only 5 yards away causing the receiver to not catch the ball, but perhaps that is more on the receiver than Matt.
    I still wish we had Steve Hutchinson, Lynch could dominate even more with Hutch.

    • Nick says:

      The picks will come. The team is still figuring itself out and developing. I’ve seen a huge difference in just 6 games, the way the secondary has played.

      As for Hasselbeck – just watch him during the games. He doesn’t often throw tight spirals or strong, deep passes. Many often hang and come dangerously close to being picked. To his credit, he’s doing a better job attempting passes that he CAN make. Hell, no picks in two games!

  3. The Ryan McClintock says:

    Thomas if around the ball every play it seems…his timing will continue to improve and he’ll get more of those near int’s…In the last two games he’s been with 5 feet of at least 10 tipped balls as the hit the turf…

  4. Noah Fitterer says:

    Looks like we face the entire NFC SOUTH this season. That should be 3 wins guaranteed right there. Giants no longer have Tony Homo playing so that’s another win. Then another win against the 49ers and Cardinals. So I think at a minimum there are 6 for sure wins that will put us in the playoffs. Most likely scenario is we finish the season at 10-6 which isn’t a necessarily bad record, maybe 11-5 if we can beat the Rams this time.

    • Nick says:

      Wow! 11-6! That’s very ambitious!

      Just have to correct you on one point, though: Romo plays for the Cowboys; we play the Giants (who are led by the Emo Manning). That will be an exceedingly tough game, with or without Okung and Mebane. Funny enough, I’m really excited for that game. It’ll be the first truly semi-contender that the Seahawks will face this season. That game will give us our first real glimpse into what kind of team the Seahawks are growing up to be. I’ll be at that game, and will be screaming my lungs bloody.

      As for the rest of the season … those are certainly winnable games, but I try not to get too ahead of myself. A few key injuries can cause a good team to crumble. Hell, we’re already facing yet another week with the two arguably most influencial players on the team: Brandon Mebane and Russell Okung. Without those two, combined with playing on the road: Oakland will be a tougher game than you think.

  5. Noah Fitterer says:

    Thats right stupid Eli Manning! haha Oops I was thinking too fast!
    But yeah I never said Oakland would be an easy game.
    We lost horribly to the Broncos, and Oakland just crushed the Broncos so I am a bit concerned.

    There is only one team I hate more than the Raiders and that is the Steelers for obvious reasons, actually I hate Worhtlessburger more than anything, I actually like Troy Polamalu, he was going to be on the Seahawks but Mike Holgrem wanted him to cut his hair before playing for us but obviously he did not comply!

    • Nick says:

      The only saving grace is Denver’s terrrrrrrrible pass rush. Jason Campbell was comfortable all game, and when comfortable he can direct an offense well. The Seahawks will have him panicked within a quarter, and it’ll slowly go downhill for the Raiders’ offense. That and the Raiders’ pass defense is terrrrrrrible. As long as the o-line can hold up and protect Matt, the game should remain competitive. Richard Seymour lining up across from Stacey Andrews frightens me.

  6. Excellent post. I definitely love this website.
    Continue the good work!

  7. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?
    A handful of my blog audience have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  8. hi!,I love your writing so much! proportion we communicate
    more about your article on AOL? I require an expert on this space to unravel my problem.
    Maybe that’s you! Looking ahead to look you.

  9. With havin so much written content do you ever run into
    any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself
    or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is
    popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any ways to help
    prevent content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

  10. Wow, that’s what I was exploring for, what a
    data! existing here at this webpage, thanks admin of this website.

  11. Nice answer back in return of this query with real arguments and telling the whole thing concerning that.

  12. This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am actually pleassant to read all at one place.

  13. Hi just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve
    tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the
    same results.

  14. It’d be safe to mention village people tale tips play with
    an essential part in National economics and shouldn’t be assumed that.

  15. Lillian says:

    Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we have developed some nice procedures and we are looking to
    exchange strategies with others, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  16. web site says:

    hey there and thank you for your information – I have
    definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this site, as I experienced to reload the web site many
    times previous to I could get it to load correctly.

    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your quality
    score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS
    to my email and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

  17. This paragraph is genuinely a fastidious one it assists new the web viewers, who are wishing for blogging.

  18. Hello! I know this is kind of off topic but I was
    wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for
    my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  19. Hi! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the fantastic work!

  20. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or
    blog posts in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this
    web site. Studying this info So i’m happy to exhibit that I’ve
    an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly
    what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to
    don?t fail to remember this site and provides it a glance regularly.

  21. Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace,
    when i read this paragraph i thought i could also create
    comment due to this brilliant piece of writing.

  22. This website certainly has all of the info I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  23. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.

    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers
    made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more
    useful than ever before.

  24. Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Finding the time
    and actual effort to make a top notch article… but what
    can I say… I put things off a lot and don’t manage to get
    nearly anything done.

  25. Discover connect to obtainRequired to full other or activity studies.

  26. Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we have created
    some nice methods and we are looking to trade
    methods with other folks, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  27. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is
    added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

  28. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to
    browse your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyhow, wonderful blog!

  29. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.

    I am quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  30. It’s the best time to make some plans for the longer term and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve learn this submit and if I could I want to counsel you
    few attention-grabbing things or advice. Perhaps you could write
    next articles referring to this article. I desire to learn even more issues approximately it!

  31. Hi there friends, how is the whole thing, and what you want
    to say on the topic of this paragraph, in my view its really awesome in favor of me.

  32. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Bless you!

  33. This website truly has all the information I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to
    ask.

  34. What’s up to every , as I am truly keen of reading this webpage’s
    post to be updated daily. It includes nice information.

  35. google.com says:

    Here are puppy training some common training mistakes.

    The idea of puppy training the dog up for breakdown. By: Narpsuk Jun 26th 2014
    – After dogs, it should not involve any negative behaviors by focussing on altering how my furry companion expressed those instincts.
    Moreover, some dogs who are wearing them.

  36. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but
    I find this matter to be really something which I think
    I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very
    broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang
    of it!

  37. Thanks , I have recently been searching for info approximately this
    subject for a while and yours is the best I have found out so far.

    But, what concerning the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to
    the source?

  38. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help
    with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but
    I’m not seeing very good success. If you know of any please share.
    Kudos!

  39. Hello, I want to subscribe for this website to
    take hottest updates, so where can i do it please help.

  40. Thanks in support of sharing such a nice opinion, paragraph is fastidious, thats
    why i have read it entirely

  41. After looking into a number of the articles on your web site, I
    truly like your way of writing a blog. I saved it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back
    in the near future. Take a look at my web site too and let me know how you
    feel.

  42. At this time it seems like Movable Type is the preferred blogging platform out there right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  43. Hi my loved one! I want to say that this article is awesome, nice written and include almost all important infos.
    I’d like to see extra posts like this .

  44. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create
    this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?

    Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from.
    kudos

  45. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging
    to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog loads very fast for me on Safari.

    Outstanding Blog!

  46. I do accept as true with all the ideas you have introduced for your post.
    They’re very convincing and will definitely work.
    Still, the posts are too quick for beginners.
    Could you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  47. Hi my friend! I wish to say that this post is awesome, nice written and come with approximately all important infos.
    I’d like to see extra posts like this .

  48. When someone writes an paragraph he/she maintains the image of a user in his/her
    mind that how a user can know it. So that’s why this paragraph is
    amazing. Thanks!

  49. Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing
    a few months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  50. Hi I am so grateful I found your webpage, I really found
    you by error, while I was looking on Yahoo for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to
    say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I
    have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

  51. I read this piece of writing completely about the difference of hottest and
    earlier technologies, it’s awesome article.

  52. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to
    get there! Many thanks

  53. Awesome! Its really amazing paragraph, I have got much clear idea concerning
    from this post.

  54. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create
    your theme? Exceptional work!

  55. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but
    your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. Cheers

  56. Mari says:

    Thank you a buncch for sharing this with all folks you really
    recognise what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked.
    Kindly additionally seek advice from my website =). We will have a link
    change agreement among us

  57. Thanks designed for sharing such a nice opinion, piece of writing is fastidious, thats why i have read it completely

  58. My relatives all the time say that I am wasting my time here at
    web, except I know I am getting knowledge all the time by reading such good articles.

  59. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I
    find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  60. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.

    I’m quite certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right
    here! Good luck for the next!

  61. Lifeless Induce 2 Compromise is ultimately away! First download it in the
    hyperlink below.

  62. Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty
    fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any
    ideas or suggestions? Appreciate it

  63. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next write
    ups thanks once again.

  64. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you
    know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it
    in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

  65. For the reason that the admin of this website is working, no uncertainty very quickly it will be renowned, due to its quality contents.

  66. Heya this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or
    if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge
    so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  67. After I initially commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every
    time a comment is added I get four emails with the
    same comment. There has to be a means you are able to remove
    me from that service? Cheers!

  68. Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really
    make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Kudos

  69. Hello there, You have done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend
    to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this
    site.

  70. What’s up Dear, are you truly visiting this site daily, if so then you will without doubt take good knowledge.

  71. Acestea sunt zone de pe o femeie care creează
    plăcere ori de câte ori au provocat . Dar cu siguranță
    nu înseamnă că voi renunța la un capriciu . Mai târziu ,
    mingea este în terenul tău , prietenul meu . Cum divers a fost înțelegerea dumneavoastră a planetei ?

  72. It’s in reality a great and useful piece of information.
    I’m glad that you shared this useful info with
    us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  73. It operated two daily round trip excursions, except on Sundays, on the 65-mile run from the Weirs at 08:00
    and 13:00, calling at Bear Island, Center Harbor, Wolfeboro, and Alton Bay.
    The temple shines with infinite reflections from hundreds of crystallized glass pieces.

    Here, the Caves hotel multiplies your joy with
    amazing views.

Leave a Reply

