Albert Breer Doesn’t Know What the Hell He’s Talking About

Albert Breer

Completely clueless. (www.nfl.com)

Then again, many main stream ‘analysts’ don’t, either. He wrote a long, mostly pointless article today (and I kills me that I have to link to it), and included a snippet about Charlie Whitehurst which set me off:

2) Last Sunday’s performance by Charlie Whitehurst (44.3 QB rating) showed that Pete Carroll and Co. made the right decision in sticking by Matt Hasselbeck. But it also underscored the uncertain future at the position for the club. This much the Seahawks know: Whitehurst is not the long-term answer, which is a blow for the team considering it gave up a 2011 third-round pick and 20 spots in the second round last year to get him. Hasselbeck hasn’t lit the world on fire himself, his contract is up this offseason, his durability has been a question of late, and he’ll turn 36 during the first month of next season (if it starts on time). That means next April, the Seahawks very well could be a player in what figures to be a decent crop of quarterbacks, provided big names like Andrew Luck and Ryan Mallett declare. The good news, in that regard, is that the Seahawks already have that guy’s blindside bodyguard in place, Russell Okung.

God damn, if all it takes is a few Google searches to string together enough “research” to report for the NFL Network, sign me up. So I sent this assbag a note on Twitter, and the conversation went as follows:

nandron Nick Andron
@AlbertBreer What proof do you have of the organizations beliefs? To judge a QB by one performance is folly and to assume they did is worse.

AlbertBreer Albert Breer
@nandron Part of my job to figure these things out. Assessment on Whitehurst is NOT based on one game. Far broader body of work evaluated.

nandron Nick Andron
@AlbertBreer Your article mention started with “Last Sunday’s performance by Charlie Whitehurst showed…” Where’s the rest of the body?

That was hours ago, and no reply yet. Not that I expected one. This asshat’s ‘analysis’ is not only a joke, but insulting to the Seahawks organization. If I’m Pete Carroll or John Schneider, I’m royally pissed off that some slappy at NFL Network has published my sentiment that I made such a monumental decision from the results of one game?

Did Charlie Whitehurst have a good game? No. But he wasn’t a complete disaster, either. He was nervous, jumpy, and made a few goofs, but kept his head screwed on and didn’t make any disastrous errors. The first pick was on Mike Williams for bobbling the ball into the hands of the defender, and the second looked like route confusion.

If Mike Williams hadn’t caused the pick, Charlie Whitehust essentially threw two touchdowns against the NFL’s best defense. And he wasn’t sacked even once! How about a few more tidbits about that game:

  • Charlie had a whopping three days of practice to work with the first team offense and prepare for the game
  • The offensive line is in shambles, and most protection schemes required six or seven blockers. Do the math, and that doesn’t leave many receiving targets, does it?
  • The Seahawks defense was ravaged by injury, and was unable to stop the Giants offense. Before Charlie knew it, his offense was in such a deep hole, the offensive game completely changes. For an inexperienced quarterback, it makes things about twice as hard.
  • Again, the Giants’ defense is the best in the league, and it’s passing defense is especially tough.

Look, I understand that NFL analyists are given a monumental task to intelligently cover the ENTIRE NFL. I mean, that’s a crap ton of teams, players and games. But it still pisses me off that this kind of ‘analysis’ is passed off as professional and legitimate.

/done venting

About Nick

I'm a guy that loves the Seahawks far and away more than any other team in any other sport. I live in Seattle, I'm married to the perfect woman, I work in marketing and I'm nearly into my 30s. Scary. Find me on Twitter talking #seahawks @nandron.
This entry was posted in Seahawks Media, Seahawks News and Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Albert Breer Doesn’t Know What the Hell He’s Talking About

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Albert Breer Doesn’t Know What the Hell He’s Talking About | The Seahawks Asylum -- Topsy.com

  2. Zeesh says:

    Question: How does one become a writer at NFL.com anyway? A journalism degree and some experience as a beat writer?

    • Nick says:

      Most likely. I doubt that many people truly study “sports science”. I don’t know if I could ever do it. You’ve got to be so fake, it’s insane. I’d be calling people out right and left, and typically you can’t be too critical of the people you follow.

  3. Jesse Gunderson says:

    That guy didn’t even watch the game, that much is obvious. If he did, he’s even dumber than I could have imagined.

    He browsed through monday morning stats and decided to do a write-up like he watched film for 4 hours. The guy wrote that while getting a lap dance at his buddies 40th birthday party on his shitty Nokia phone using predictive text.

    What a douche.

    • Nick says:

      Pretty certain he had his 4 year old daughter scribble notes from the game onto a cocktail napkin using a crayon, and he simply scanned the napkin, ran it through a text analyzer, and uploaded to his blog.

  4. Grump says:

    Screw breer. Who cares! I just want you to explain yourself: where is your sunday post? 36-18 is not enough to post something? anything… People wait, you know….

  5. The Ryan McClintock says:

    He absolutely didn’t watch the game…If so he would have spoke on his drop back, release, accuracy outside of the first quarter, zip on the ball, insane arm strenght while on his toes moving backwards…etc.

  6. Alex E says:

    That “asshat” was regarded as the nation’s top collegiate sports writer, while at OSU. He then made his way from sports writer for a no-name paper in Mass. to the Dallas Morning News, to Boston Globe NFL reporter, and now is an analyst for NFL network.

    • Nick says:

      Thanks for your comment, Eric. I’m aware of Albert Breer’s accomplishments, and thus was quite surprised (and angered) by his completely uneducated comments about Charlie Whitehurst. And by the way, I’ve got a buddy from Boston, born and raised, who’s probably the biggest Pats fan ever, and he agrees with my opinion about Mr. Breer 🙂

  7. I think it’s obvious folks, after reading Albert Breer’s column I have figured out on my own that he is a gay nazi pirate hooker. I think these truths are self-evident if one studies the work as I have for 5 sec. If you come back at me I’ll say “nana nana boo boo” and then stop responding, yours truly – Albert Queer

  8. Metergerbill says:

    If you really want to have a good time – go back to Boston.Com’s archives from ths past summer and read some of Albert’s training camp observations.

    Thousands of words were spent telling everyone what a great QB Chad Henne was about to become.

    The man knows football.

Leave a Reply

