Nine to Ten, Give or Take

Russell Okung

The Seahawks may find themselves drafting in single digit position in 2011. How depressing.

On Sunday evening, I found myself zoned out mindlessy browsing the internet. With a slight shake of the head, I snapped out of it and my eyes focused on the web page that brightly lit the screen of my MacBook Pro. Shit, not again. For a 3rd straight season, I’ve found myself staring at the previous season’s final standings to approximate where the Seahawks may pick in the next draft. Before the season is even over. Ugh. The fat lady hasn’t even cleared her throat, yet.

The Seahawks were blown out of the Bay in what was probably the most embarrassing loss of the season. The defense continues to look exhausted, sloppy. And I was half right in my previous post: the Seahawks’ offense was anemic. It wasn’t surprising, especially with Williams and Obomanu both inactive. What I didn’t take into account, however, was how poorly Hasselbeck would play and how easily and often Hasselbeck would cough up the ball. Or should I have? His stat line against the 49ers:

Matt Hasselbeck – 27/42 – 285 yards – 2 TD – 4 INT – 1 LOST FUM

Almost exactly this time last season, against the Bucs:

Matt Hasselbeck – 27/46 – 256 yards – 1 TD – 4 INT – 1 LOST FUM

Scary? Yeah, a little. Coincidence? Probably not. Matt may have found himself on a completely different roster this seasons, but it has not translated into any better of a team. According to Football Outsiders, the Seahawks’ offense finished 27th in offensive overall DVOA in 2009; in 13 games this season, it ranks 28th. On the defensive side of the ball, this season is mirroring 2009: 29th in overall defensive DVOA. A combination of a weak schedule and absolutely stellar special teams play has translated to more wins. Ya-fuckin’-hoo. And yes, that marks the first F bomb on the Seahawks Asylum.

Tony Dungy has been laughed into a deep, dark hole and is unlikely to return. The Seahawks are not a good team. It may be an average team with a perfectly healthy roster, one that’s already very thin on talent. Some of its few talented players have missed significant time to injury. Some will not return this season. Red Bryant went on IR, and the defense folded like a cheap tent. The offense looks completely lost without Mike Williams (that guy who hasn’t played in the NFL in two seasons). Until the Seahawks can find and retain talent, it will be a non-factor.

I want the Seahawks to win. I always want wins. Wins feel good. But the irrational, emotional, homer in me is neighbor to a stone cold realist; a real asshole. And that asshole is telling me, in his even, knowing tone: the Seahawks will finish the final quarter of this season like they did last year. Winless. And that’d place the Seahawks around nine or ten in the first round of the 2011 NFL draft.

Yeah yeah, any given Sunday. Williams could triumphantly return and the Seahawks could beat a recently injury-depleted Bucs. (Forgive me for skipping the Falcons game). Hell, the Seahawks are due for a good game. And they could just as easily hand an uneven Rams team a juicy ass kicking in week 17. But you’re about to be reunited with the asshole realist inside you: where would YOU put your hard earned money if forced to bet a paycheck on the outcome of each of the final three games?

The homer in me is praying, screaming for wins. For domination. For beast mode. For Hasselbeck to meet and beat Dave Krieg’s win record. For respectability. It all starts on Sunday. I’m hoping the Seahawks put my realist in it’s place.

About Nick

I'm a guy that loves the Seahawks far and away more than any other team in any other sport. I live in Seattle, I'm married to the perfect woman, I work in marketing and I'm nearly into my 30s. Scary. Find me on Twitter talking #seahawks @nandron.
This entry was posted in Seahawks Analysis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nine to Ten, Give or Take

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Nine to Ten, Give or Take | The Seahawks Asylum -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

