Why the Packers Must Prevail

Aaron Rodgers

We need this guy to absolutely obliterate the Eagles today. (AP Photo/Morry Gash)

I will get to yesterday’s unbelievably mind-blowingly awesome game soon. But first, I must attend to more important matters. It’s imperative for the Seahawks that the Packers beat the Eagles today. Here are three reasons why:

1. Next week’s matchup. If you had the choice, which team would you rather have the Seahawks face in the next round of the playoffs? The Chicago Bears or the Atlanta Falcons? If you fell off your couch holding your gut and laughing, you’re not alone. It’s a no brainer, right? In the playoffs, the lowest seeded winner will play the highest seeded team. In this case, the Seahawks are a division winner, the Packers a wild card. If the Packers win, they will travel to Atlanta and the Seahawks will travel to Chicago. Chicago has been playing good football since the Seahawks beat them early in the season (they’re 7-3, in fact). Even so, I’d much rather play the Bears than the Falcons. No question.

2. Sunday versus Saturday. A Packers victory will match the Seahawks up with the Chicago Bears on Sunday. After the game, Pete Carroll said that Lofa Tatupu suffered a “pretty severe concussion”. My thoughts are with him and I wish him a speedy recovery. Maybe an extra day will aid that recovery and help get him back on the field to face the Bears.

3. One more home game. This last one is a bit of a stretch, but hey – a guy can dream, can’t he? If the Packers and Seahawks meet in the NFC championship game, it will be at Qwest Field. Again – this is due to seeding: the Packers are a wild card and the Seahawks a division champion. If this happens, you bet your ass I’ll be there screaming my lungs hoarse.

Get your cheesehead hats on, boys and girls. It’s time to pray.

About Nick

I'm a guy that loves the Seahawks far and away more than any other team in any other sport. I live in Seattle, I'm married to the perfect woman, I work in marketing and I'm nearly into my 30s. Scary. Find me on Twitter talking #seahawks @nandron.
This entry was posted in Seahawks Analysis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why the Packers Must Prevail

  1. Howdy! This blog post couldn’t be written any better!
    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will send this article to
    him. Fairly certain he’s going to have a great read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

